Home > Uncategorized > Pitching at Writers Digest 2015

Pitching at Writers Digest 2015

Here we are at the other side of Pitch Slam at Writers Digest 2015 New York City. 
What happened today?

I went to a couple of talks, but only semi-listened because I was mostly thinking about pitching.

Lined up to enter the pitch 40 minutes early. Chatted to another Aussie I happened to stand next to out of 100 people, and then marked on my sheet where the agents I want to see will be sitting.

Then i entered and it was absolutely crazy!
Thriller Fest pitching was crazy as well, but you had a few minutes time to yourself if you needed it. I did feel like I had been awake for 22 days straight toward the end, however. But I felt like I had achieved something. A marathon, let’s say.
The WD pitch was like a sprint. And not a long sprint. It was a sprint across a street! Then on the other side someone slaps you in the face and says, That’s it you’re done, it’s over.
What I’m saying is, it was only an hour long at WD, and much time was standing in line or trying to find a short line. 
If I had only come for one event I would have been disappointed. I’m glad I came for both and had more opportunity.

I now have another 5 emails to send to agents from attending WD. However, only 2 were really interested.
Imagine flying over to the US from Australia and getting those small results.
ThrillerFest was for thriller writers, so I had more success, but I also had lots more time to pitch to more agents.

I had 8 agents to send my manuscript to after TF. However, only 5 were really interested.
Your findings may have been different. 
Let me know.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

